News from Greece

Gregory Paschalidis
Gregory Paschalidis

The Hellenic Semiotic Society, founded in 1977, held its last International Conference at the University of Cyprus (Nicosia), in November 2010, on the topic of ‘The Everyday’. It recently organised the 3rd annual ‘Young Scholars Symposium in Semiotics’ ( and is holding its forthcoming 10th International Conference on Semiotics, entitled ‘Changing Worlds & Signs of the Times’ at the University of Thessaly (Volos, Greece), from 4 to 6 October 2013


Τhe Hellenic Semiotic Society is currently planning to publish an online, free access, peer-reviewed international journal devoted to semiotics. The journal, named Punctum-International Journal of Semiotics, will be published twice a year, in English – although submissions in French and German will be accepted as well.

Punctum will be the first Greek-based international and online-only academic journal in the field of semiotics, and aspires to become a forum for the advancement of both indigenous and international scholarship. It also aims to foster a closer intellectual exchange and cooperation between the scientific communities of Eastern & South Eastern Europe with those of Western and Northern Europe.

International Editorial Board of Punctum-International Journal of Semiotics

Prof. Kristian Bankov, New Bulgarian University, Bulgaria

Prof. Karin Boklund-Lagopoulou, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Em. Prof. Paul Bouissac, University of Toronto, Canada

Prof. Paul Cobley, London Metropolitan University, England

Prof. John Deely, University of St. Thomas, U.S.A.

Prof. Jacques Fontanille, University of Limoges, France

Prof. Anne Hénault, University of Paris Sorbonne, France

Em. Prof. Jean-Marie Klinkenberg, University of Liege, Belgium

Prof. Pirjo Kukkonen, University of Helsinki, Finland

Prof. Kalevi Kull, University of Tartu, Estonia

Em. Prof. Alexandros-Phaidon Lagopoulos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Assoc. Prof. Apostolos Lampropoulos, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Prof. Eric Landowski, CNRS, France   

Prof. Massimo Leone, University of Turin, Italy

Prof. Theo van Leeuwen, University of Technology Sidney, Australia

Prof. Susan Petrilli, University of Bari, Italy

Em. Prof. Roland Posner, Berlin Technical University, Germany

Prof. Göran Sonesson, Lund University, Sweden

Prof. Eero Tarasti, University of Helsinki, Finland

Prof. Peeter Torop, University of Tartu, Estonia


jaworski images and captions short





 Assoc. Prof. Gregory Paschalidis,      

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, email:

Asst. Prof. Lia Yoka,                   

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, email:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.